Arlington National Cemetery is calling my name

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=1180338903802&set=vb.1088040176&type=2&theater

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=1180339703822&set=vb.1088040176&type=2&theater

 

First off, these two videos are publicly available to all on facebook since I do not believe in privacy settings. The first one is the Taps Ceremony from my grandfathers service in November 2009. The 2nd Video is of the Honor Guard folding the flag over my grandfathers urn. The honor guard presented the flag to my mother at the end of the 2nd video.

Ever since the conclusion of the service at Arlington for my grandfather, I have promised myself and everyone around me that I will return to Arlington National Cemetery. Never did I think it would be this soon. I feel as if this is the last step in my healing process of dealing with the loss of my grandfather three years ago. The whole shock of him being gone is over. Seeing an actual grave will be peaceful I think. I will have the financial resources available for a trip of this nature. These resources were not obtained illegally, however I wish not to speak about how that came about.

Anyways I digress…

The day I visit Arlington, I will be wearing my Civil Air Patrol short sleeve dress uniform. This way, should I hear taps about the cemetery, I will be able to render a real salute. I do intend on viewing the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and the grave of President John F. Kennedy. I am coming up with a plan to take pictures during this trip. I will have navigation covered by taking a GPS.

One of my Civil Air Patrol contacts in the DC area has expressed interest in knowing when I make this trip to Arlington. Whether she wants to meet up somewhere or take me sightseeing, that I do not know. But when I do finalize the dates of my travel, I will be letting everyone know on twitter and facebook. The only thing that is set in stone right now is my departure time from Connecticut, and my travel day in return (as in generic Day of the week) Should any of my #avgeek tweeps or any other fellow tweeps of mine wish to meet up during this experience, feel free to @ reply me or DM me on twitter under @planeliker

About planeliker

I'm 23. Im big and vocal when it comes to airplanes and the military. (I know my stuff and probably could be considered an expert), Im a Civil Air Patrol 2nd Lt. Technically I'm a veteran by federal standards but there's no point in pursuing federal benefits. (served in the Air National Guard) Trying to change that though by getting back in the military.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

