Flag Day Ceremony- Elks Lodge and Civil Air Patrol

Hello everyone. Hope all is well. Ever since joining Civil Air Patrol as a Cadet in October 2002, every June I get this sense of patriotism for Flag Day. One of our Senior members doubles as a member of Elks Lodge 0025 in New Haven, CT. He always asks our unit to help with the lodge in assisting with their presentation of various flags throughout the history of their existence in the United States. There are Seven flags total which have a brief description that is read by the (I think its called Head Elk). This country started with a green snake flag with a white background. We then moved to the flag you might see a bunch of US Marines promoting all the time. Its the “Don’t tread on me” flag. (In my world, that flag has no political meaning for the so called tea party in this country…. thats another post … (not for my blog)

Another flag this country had when we were a baby nation, involved the British logo in what is now the the stars portion of the current flag. We then graduated to the Betsy Ross Flag with the circle of stars. The next one they display is a flag of 15 stars, 48 and then 50. Please pardon my lack of description for all of these flags as I have not had a whole lot of sleep today and I was not intending to take notes.

The ceremony performed in New Haven Elks Lodge 0025 is apparently carried out the Sunday before Flag day in all Elks lodge locations across the country. From what I’ve learned after going to this ceremony for the past 9 years was that Flag Day was not an official holiday until 1907. The controversial words in the Pledge of Allegiance “Under God” were not added until 1954.

For those in the United States who may want to consider joining a local chapter of the Elks Lodge, it is open to natural born citizens only and is truly American. I personally have no desire to do as such but it is nice to know they invite my CAP Squadron back every year. The last three years, I have used the time to almost “bond” with my fellow senior members who tag along. We get to enjoy a nice hearty breakfast, and then the ceremony begins.

I do not have any pictures from this years event, but I do have a photo of our group that was taken last year. (Im not sure how this is going to work on the desktop, so here goes.)Image

Left to right in this photo: Maj. John Daley, (former) cadet Michael Ill, Maj. Ed Carr (the Elks lodge member as well), myself (2nd Lt), 1st Lt. Laura Moore, 2nd Lt Chester Galemba and Cadet Dobosz.

 

Due to a conflict in my work schedule, I am not able to attend meetings right now at my CAP Squadron on Monday evenings, unless work schedules me off. I work the overnight shift in Wallingford, CT and it starts at 8pm. my CAP Squadron meets Monday evenings from 7pm to 9pm Eastern Time. (thats New York time for my international blog followers) {GMT-4 in the summer}. In a previous blog entry, i had touched upon my volunteer efforts outside of Civil Air Patrol following Tropical Storm Irene. Well I decided to use today’s Elks Lodge ceremony to be presented formally with that ribbon.

Here is a picture I took of my CAP Blues hanging up earlier on my wall (Fireman’s display). The weird lighting makes it look like I have silver insignia, but I am really a 2nd Lt. still.Image

The volunteer service ribbon is the one that is bottom center. Each bronze triangle clasp denotes at least a minimum of 60 additional hours beyond the original 60 that are required for the ribbon. I volunteered for 200 Hours total, so there you go.

 

And this final picture in here is from the request of @UPELEVATOR1 on twitter. I won this mug in a drawing that was held by @KarlenePetitt on her blog from a few weeks ago. The gentleman behind @UPELEVATOR1 always asks this mug to travel different places related to aviation, and for a picture to follow. This photo below, is that mug at my Communications desk at my CAP Squadron. A start for now.Image

About planeliker

I'm 23. Im big and vocal when it comes to airplanes and the military. (I know my stuff and probably could be considered an expert), Im a Civil Air Patrol 2nd Lt. Technically I'm a veteran by federal standards but there's no point in pursuing federal benefits. (served in the Air National Guard) Trying to change that though by getting back in the military.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

