The lucky number is 8020

For some of you who may happen to pay attention to my tweets, you will notice I tweet about seasonal sports throughout the year (baseball, tennis, hockey, NASCAR, football and soccer). While i do consider myself lucky to have a job, it means that I can not watch most baseball games this time of year. I was listening to my beloved New York Mets on WFAN660AM. I decided to walk into work at the end of the 2nd Inning. The time was about 1945 local and my shift starts at 2000 local. I kept up with the game via tweets sent to my phone. I checked them all on my break. At that time I saw something from the Mets broadcast booth and sounded confused. But someone by the name of www.twitter.com/KKinnett summed it up with the following:

Santana with a no-hitter… first in #Mets history! congratsss!

I was instantly overcome with joy and excitement. It only took 8020 games to do so, but this is a great thing in sports history. The passionate New York Yankee hater in me was upset on them winning in stinker fashion today. It would’ve been nice to see the Yankees lose, but I guess the baseball gods can only do so much. This is one of those moments I am not ashamed to be a Mets fan. I was not alive yet in 1986 for the other great moment in mets lore. the famous Buckner play

http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=2968146

Maybe we will see the New York Mets in the playoffs this year. And for the curious ones out there, I am not related to the awesome Mets Closer from the 90’s with the same name.

Links to those mentioned:

www.wfan.com     www.twitter.com/wfan660 www.twitter.com/MetsWFAN (the ever funny Howie Rose and his partners in the radio booth)

That’s all for now.

About planeliker

I'm 23. Im big and vocal when it comes to airplanes and the military. (I know my stuff and probably could be considered an expert), Im a Civil Air Patrol 2nd Lt. Technically I'm a veteran by federal standards but there's no point in pursuing federal benefits. (served in the Air National Guard) Trying to change that though by getting back in the military.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The lucky number is 8020

  1. OH PLEASE says:

    Too bad when you get technical a BLOWN CALL BY AN UMP is what saved him a hit.

    Cone and Wells didn’t need an incompetent ump to help them to “perfection”, THEY ACTUALLY DID IT.

    Typical Mets fan…delusional. Your team is and will always be second string. The baseball gods aren’t in your favor…quit deluding yourself.

Leave a Reply

