Update from the world of planeliker

Ok so a ton has happened to me since the last update. I have been inspired to start blogging again because @CaptainAboard on twitter said he was going to add my blog site here to his “Connecting Flights Section. I will do my part on his behalf and ask you to check out http://www.facebook.com/JeremysFlightDeck and give it a like if you find his page interesting. As of this post, he is up to 27 likes (myself included)

OK So back to what’s going on with me and such. I’m not one for crazy graphics and stuff. It won’t hurt my feelings if no one foolows this blog formally. i just write this stuff down and put this out for the world to see at their leisure.

The last post I made was around Memorial Day 2011. The summer wen’t fairly well for me last year with a few speed bumps. For those of you who are my aviation tweeps, i did have an opportunity to ride back seat in a Civil Air Patrol aircraft in July 2011. The purpose of the ride was orientation flights for the Cadets in my squadron. On the last sortie of the day, a seat opened up and the Major who was flying invited me into the back seat. I thanked him greatly for giving me the oppurtunity to go flying as my main duty that day was to supervise on the ground.

A few weeks later, my family made what appears to be an annual trek down to Smith Pt. County Park in Long Island. It’s at the southern tip of the William Floyd Parkway and is home to a HUGE beach, 12 foot waves and the TWA Flight 800 Memorial. The TWA Flight 800 Memorial is very beautiful. For those of you who may want to check it out, I recommend a heavy duty bug spray as the mosquitoes are practically on steroids over there. It’s the tall grass that draws them in.

In late July of last year, I was involved in a car crash. I had to make a right hand turn into a commercial parking lot when some dude decided to rear end me. it spun my van around and I did my best to avoid a Lexus that was waiting to pull out but nope. The van was totaled. I wasn’t injured and neither was anyone else in my van at the time. 

August through November were quite eventful for my hometown. Tropical Storm Irene made landfall here in Connecticut around the city of Greenwich as forecast. Initial sustained winds in some areas were approaching 70mph. I was listening to the forecast in my car at the time since my place was without power. I was personally out of power for 72 hours. The shoreline section of East Haven, Connecticut (my hometown) was hardest hit. 30 homes along the beach were destroyed or severely damaged. I was called to duty with Civil Air patrol and I proceeded as ordered from my Squadron to our base HQ which was at the time HFD (Brainard Airport). I was released from duty after one day. The next day (Tuesday) the power came back on. I started watching youtube and saw a story CNN did right from the beach here in East Haven. That turned a light bulb in my head. On the following day (Wednesday), I drove the 5 miles to the beach with the initial intent to help homeowners for free in cleaning up storm debris. I stumbled upon a tent that was handing out Water and Chips to everyone down there on the beach. 

I kept coming back every day to this spot. Our little tent turned into a massive drop off point for food, supplies and money for affected shoreline victims of Hurricane Irene. You can do a google search on Shawn Hopkinson and read some of the articles yourself. he gets the credit for starting all this up, but I and a few others stayed with him throughout the whole ordeal. We raised about $5300 which went directly to these people who were affected. i know because i was there to hand out the checks to the people in October 2011. We fed everyone on the beach who was affected for 2 weeks before taking our slideshow of photos to the East Haven Fall Festival.

A benefit concert was organized by Phylicia Slocum in October 2011 at the town High School which raised even more dollars. For those of you with facebook, i am inputting in a video I was tagged in which shows what I went through as a volunteer. I am in a few slideshots wearing a CT Wing Civil Air patrol Flying Dog hat and a Wright Patterson AFB blue shirt. I did all of this outside of CAP and was able to earn a Volunteer Service Ribbon with two bronze triangle clasps. I am still awaiting presentation of the ribbon since my work schedule now conflicts with me being able to show up to my squadron meetings. Anywho, here is the link:

Last minute addition here: I’m sure some of you folks outside the Northeast heard of the Snowtober event? About 4 inches of snow was dropped in East Haven and other parts of CT got 2+ feet. Some towns had to postpone Halloween. Yerp, there was snow on the ground for Halloween. And then not much since. It was a dry and warm winter.

.. I guess facebook is being crappy today so I will worry about this stuff in another post. Or perhaps Comcast has issues again…

In December 2011 I had my 23rd birthday (I’m not getting old yet!) In mid December, I started paying more attention to the lack of Emergency Services qualifications for myself regarding Civil Air Patrol. I’ve had multiple opportunities since to get trained in whats called GTM3 status (Ground team Member Level 3). it is my personal gial to one day be able to get a lot of people in my Civil Air Patrol squadron signed off on GTM3 so that we will once again become the Emergency Services squadron we once were (way back in the 80’s from what I’ve been told)

Since December, I’ve had an awesome opportunity in May 2012 to get a VIP look at a Cessna Citiation 680 owned by the Whelen Corporation. Whelen makes emergency LED Lights for police, EMS, fire, NASCAR and Civil Air Patrol. CAP Vans that are retrofitted with strobe lights and Light bars are most likely manufactured by Whelen. Whelen’s corporate HQ are right here in Connecticut. Chester, CT. They base their two airplanes out of the Groton New London Airport (KGON). The two pilots have no issues with anyone who wants to publicly track their flights.

http://flightaware.com/live/flight/N18WE

Pictures of the Whelen experience and pictures of my Volunteer efforts post Tropical Storm Irene can be found on my facebook and twitter.

http://www.facebook.com/planeliker

http://www.twitter.com/planeliker

So as this long blog draws to a close, I am listing some links for stuff that was mentioned in this post.

Whelen:

http://www.whelen.com       http://www.twitter.com/WhelenEng

Civil Air Patrol:

http://www.gocivilairpatrol.com           http://www.twitter.com/CivilAirPatrol               http://www.ctwg.cap.gov

Jeremy’s Flight Deck (the facebook page is listed above so here’s his site)  www.jeremysflightdeck.com

 

 

 

About planeliker

I'm 23. Im big and vocal when it comes to airplanes and the military. (I know my stuff and probably could be considered an expert), Im a Civil Air Patrol 2nd Lt. Technically I'm a veteran by federal standards but there's no point in pursuing federal benefits. (served in the Air National Guard) Trying to change that though by getting back in the military.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Update from the world of planeliker

  1. John, thank you so much for the mentions and your support. It means a lot. Once I get my laptop internet problem fixed, I will add your name, title, and site to the list. I also wanted to let you know that I am based out on Long Island so If you’re ever out here give me a buzz. Have a great weekend!

  2. Karlene says:

    Wow. All I can say is wow. From speed bumps to emergency services. We need more people like you who won’t slow down, despite those bumps in the road. Keep flying strong. All your dreams will come true, and in the process you’ll be saving lives, and helping others to live theirs as well.

  3. Karlene says:

    PS… can’t find the gadgets to post to FB or Twitter.

    • planeliker says:

      I once had my blog synched with the two. I’m not an HTML expert to put such things on my page. Copyright issues do not exist in my world. Just copy and paste the link to such pages. Its a learning curve of sorts for me again. I once did all blogging on my iPod but that went missing in October 2011.

      • Karlene says:

        A year ago I didn’t know what a gadget was. I thought it was that thing I stuck in my Mix Master.

Leave a Reply

