Memorial Day and what it means to Me

So I haven’t blogged in quite some time. I figured this Memorial Day weekend would be a revival of my blogging tendencies again.

Memorial Day… What does it mean to you? The answer probably means parties and cookouts and time off from work. For me the meaning is on the other end of the spectrum. How many of you can remember every Memorial Day from 2006 until now? Hey I can!

2006: I was in Orange, CT at my cousins house.

2007: I was at Lighthouse Point Park in New Haven, CT

2008: I was in Air Force BMT at Lackland, AFB

2009: I spent the day with my grandfather at home

2010: I attended Memorial Day Observances (not church you dimwits) in East Haven, CT on the Town green and the VFW Post.

2011 is still up in the air but I will not let it go to waste, even with me being scheduled overnight into Sunday morning.

Has anything seemed a bit un normal in that list? Back in May 2008 I was in a bit of a struggle against red tape to stay in Air Force BMT. I was on Medical Hold at the time for 30 days. On May 22nd 2008 I decided “the hell with paperwork” and asked to continue training. If it weren’t for my grandfather, that wouldn’t have happened. So anyways the only special treatment all trainees got on Memorial Day was standard protocol for the Air Force. PT was exempt at 0552 Central time. We were allowed lights out the night before at 2200 instead of 2100 and we woke up at 0545. The rest of the day was routine.

Long story short my luck ran out in June and I was ELS’ed in July 2008.

So now to the real reason why I’m blogging. I do not let Memorial Day go down the gutter anymore. Especially since my grandfather passed away in November 2009. Many of you who are reading this from my facebook page know he was a WW2 Veteran and a POW in Stalag 17 (Krems, Austria)

I would like to take the opportunity to say hey I salute everyone in my life, past and present, haters and non haters who have some sort of tie to the military. Whether it be someone who was directly at any time in the service, or whether it be someone I know who has family in the service. And especially for those who have gone into the unknown dimension. I would not be in the position I am today without the support of all my friends, family, fellow BMT wingmen/seppers, and my fellow volunteers in the Civil Air Patrol.

I leave you all to do some personal reflecting (no not praying- I’m not a religious numbnutz) with this rendition of Taps that shows the words behind the bugle call.

About planeliker

I'm 23. Im big and vocal when it comes to airplanes and the military. (I know my stuff and probably could be considered an expert), Im a Civil Air Patrol 2nd Lt. Technically I'm a veteran by federal standards but there's no point in pursuing federal benefits. (served in the Air National Guard) Trying to change that though by getting back in the military.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

