Update on my Flightsim X Round the World trek

Since the last post regarding my status on this adventure, my pace of long flights in the DC3 has slowed down. Work and other interests have slipped inbetween. Currently I am at an airport in Eastern Russia with the ICAO ID of URKK. Its in the city of Krasnodar, Russia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/URKK (the real world info)

From here forward Im not sure if I want to stay in Russia all the way to the USA or if I feel like hopping through the Himalayas. The DC3 has a service ceiling of FL232 (23,200 feet MSL) so I must keep that in mind. The 5.1 hour hop I made to URKK from Moldova was in a modified DC3 airplane with modern avionics. The person who came up with the plane for FSX modeled the thing after real world flight characteristics. This means that the DC3 will fly faster and with less sluggish responses to control yoke inputs. On this latest leg I was getting 150 knots indicated airspeed. With help from a nice tailwind I was getting a groundspeed of about 205 knots. To me thats exciting. Compare that to my first part oceanic leg back in December. I was at 11,000 feet from Providence, RI to Halifax, NS at only 120 KIAS.

So youre probably wondering when I’ll arrive back at KMMK and KHVN in CT? I dont have an answer. I am taking this challenge with almost a roadtrip like attitude in a car where I dont care.

About planeliker

I'm 23. Im big and vocal when it comes to airplanes and the military. (I know my stuff and probably could be considered an expert), Im a Civil Air Patrol 2nd Lt. Technically I'm a veteran by federal standards but there's no point in pursuing federal benefits. (served in the Air National Guard) Trying to change that though by getting back in the military.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

