11SEP01: A day which will live in infamy

http://www.airdisaster.com/cvr/atcwav.shtml

Here’s a link to a website that’s credible with the last few moments of United 93. NOTAM: the recording has been time crunched to fit into about 4 minutes. Further research by myself has discovered that at the time of the takeover, UA93 was well into Ohio.

Do I think any portion of the September 11th attacks were scripted by the US Government? Absolutely not! I’d have to be mentally insane to think of such things.

Anyways with the aviation stuff out of the way: Where were you on that fateful day? I was in one of my classes at Joseph Melillo Middle School (East Haven, CT) when this girl Alyssa Dato approached me and said what happened to the World Trade Center. At first I paused about 10 seconds and then quickly said it wasn’t possible. Boy was I wrong. Word about the days events spread real quickly. By the time my school let us out at about 10:30am, I knew the basics of what happened. I originally sprinted up the hill once I got off the bus. I thought Al Qaida was going to bomb the hell out of my neighborhood.

So I naturally turned on ABC News and learned of the whole shebang. A few days later my school held a ceremony in front of the big flag outdoors in the front of JMMS. I also remember the big benefit concert that was on EVERY TV station.

A few years ago, the September 11th attacks were part of the inspiration of my desire to join the Air National Guard. To be honest, I get a little choked up when I see the reminders on TV every year.

Today is not a day for people to sit on their ass all day. Every one of you should be going to some sort of ceremony to honor those lost and those left behind. Tonight before work, I’m going to don my Civil Air Patrol dress blues and head over to the green around 9pm or so. There’s a remembrance ceremony in conjunction with the annual East Haven Fall festival.

About planeliker

I'm 23. Im big and vocal when it comes to airplanes and the military. (I know my stuff and probably could be considered an expert), Im a Civil Air Patrol 2nd Lt. Technically I'm a veteran by federal standards but there's no point in pursuing federal benefits. (served in the Air National Guard) Trying to change that though by getting back in the military.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

