I get to go flying again

Ok so on Tuesday or Wednesday I got an email from the Deputy Commander/Aerospace/Cadet Activities Officer in my CAP squadron. He wants me to tag along on a flight he’s conducting on 10AUG2010. Of course I immediately said yes to it. The last time I was up in a small plane was 2007. I probably won’t get a chance to physically fly the plane, but at best, I’m hoping to at least get to operate the radio. Legally I’m not allowed to be PIC (Pilot in Command) of any airplane. But if you get me behind the controls of anything, including a jumbo, I’d know what to do.

We will be flying all on the Deputy Commander’s dime. This is not any official Civil Air Patrol flight.

So you’re probably wondering how all this came to be. Well the first part is from a COMP program that the Cadet Commander in my CAP squadron approved in order to increase pride and discipline in our unit. It’s definetely working. The reward for the Cadets is a flight in a single engine Piper Warrior out of the Robinson Aviation FBO at HVN. Also I was recently appointed to be the Assistant Deputy Commander in my CAP unit. So I’ll be tagging along and probably be taking pictures of the whole thing.

So our flight is scheduled for aroud 1830 hrs local on 10AUG. If anyone wants to tune in to hear us on the radio, go to LiveATC

On the left hand side there’s an airport search. Type in KHVN and listen in. Robinson Aviation has 4 single engine Piper Warriors so at this point I don’t know what our callsign will be. I’ll keep everyone informed though.

Flying is definetely a passion of mine. The enclosed picture in this blog is from 21OCT01. I was 11 at the time and went on my first flight training lesson at that time. What held me back from doing it sooner was weather, booking issues and sadly 9/11.

About planeliker

I'm 23. Im big and vocal when it comes to airplanes and the military. (I know my stuff and probably could be considered an expert), Im a Civil Air Patrol 2nd Lt. Technically I'm a veteran by federal standards but there's no point in pursuing federal benefits. (served in the Air National Guard) Trying to change that though by getting back in the military.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

