Be prepared when driving to an Airport

So the next time you trek off to an airport, remember the saying “Semper Vigilans”, which means “Always Vigilant”

Yesterday I took the “usual” drive into Queens to see my stepsister off on a flight to IND from LGA. She was booked on TRS897 which was supposed to depart at 1629 local. But this trip was nothing but usual.

My stepfather had ATM issues. So he had to borrow an (undisclosed) amount of cash from me. Then whoop de do we headed on I-95 Southbound and yup, there was traffic in Fairfield County. My stepsister discovered her paper ID was expired. So that got us all worried. Turns out because she’s not 18 yet, and she doesn’t need one to fly.

We made it to LGA unscathed but that’s when the troubles began. Some dude approached us and said, “Flying to Indianapolis? Don’t bother, flight 897 is cancelled.”

So I checked the boards and sure enough it was cancelled. That whole “oh shit” moment briefly took over our emotions as we scrambled for an AirTran phone number. The check-in counter was jammed nearly out the door. We found the 800 number thanks to the contacts list in my phone. I still had it in there from when I visited Indiana in March.

My stepfather didn’t have all the required info so he had to get his brother on the phone from Ridge, NY. He was te one who booked the ticket.

As soon as I saw TRS891 being copied by pen, I immediately knew we weren’t getting my stepsister home yesterday. She was rebooked for tomorrow 29JUL on TRS891 departing at 0945.

So we made a b line for the parking lot and programmed home in the gps. We intended to go over the Whitestone Bridge to catch the Hutchinson River/Merritt Parkway for home.

We got on the Cross Island Parkway alright but (gulp) headed into Yankee territory over the RFK (formerly Triboro) Bridge.

My stepfather starting saying it might be an expensive fuck up but it wasn’t really. (He was worried about the possibility of the George Washington Bridge). But we still only paid $5.50. We just took much longer to get home as we had hit pockets of traffic all the way back into East Haven, CT.

What shouldve taken maybe 4 hours at the most turned into 6. It was a mentally draining day.

About planeliker

I'm 23. Im big and vocal when it comes to airplanes and the military. (I know my stuff and probably could be considered an expert), Im a Civil Air Patrol 2nd Lt. Technically I'm a veteran by federal standards but there's no point in pursuing federal benefits. (served in the Air National Guard) Trying to change that though by getting back in the military.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

